Protein is a necessary part of a balanced diet, and depending on your diet, sometimes you may need a little extra in the form of a supplemental protein powder.
But how do you choose a protein powder? We’re going to break it down for you.
Where does the protein in protein powders come from?
Protein powders come in all different forms and each one has its own benefits. Most commonly, protein powder is either whey protein, pea protein, soy protein, or brown rice protein. Pea protein powder is one of the most hypoallergenic of all protein powders. Because it doesn’t contain gluten or dairy, its especially useful for avoiding gastric distress if you have a sensitivity to lactose, gluten or gliadin (another common allergen that usually occurs in wheat containing grains). Dose & Co plant based protein powder is vegan and contains no artificial flavours or additives.
Why Pea Protein?
Pea protein is extracted from peas by drying and grounding peas into a fine flour. It is then mixed with water, removing the fibre and starch. This leaves mostly protein and the vitamins and minerals. The paste is dried into a fine powder which creates the pea protein isolate. Pea protein is rich in amino acids, vitamins and minerals and branched chained amino acids. Pea protein also contains leucine which is an amino acid that is great for muscle building. It is one of the most unsung heroes among plant based protein powders!
Dose & Co protein powder is made exclusively from yellow peas grown and processed in Germany. It is gluten free, dairy free, soy free, non-GMO, and free from artificial sweeteners, flavors and colors. At Dose & Co we know how important it is to look after our gut health which is why we added a probiotic to our protein powders.